Wednesday, things happened like the usual. Work, class.. But after class, I had tennis practice, so that was great getting out there and preparing for our game tomorrow against Wake Forest!! I'm pretty excited. It's going to take up most of the day, though, so that kind of sucks, but otherwise, it's good! After practice, I went to my house course, where we talked about three articles we had read, and about the UN Millennium Development Goals and President Obama's speech on Wednesday. After class, I grabbed a quick dinner from The Tower, where I got a delicious Philly Cheesesteak with a side of mashed red potatoes. Then, I did a quick research study test for Fuqua (great ways to make money!!), and I made $15 in around 20 minutes. Awesome! After that, I went to the library I studied and got work done for Thursday. Boooo. Oh, and when I went to the BC during lunch, I spotted a cool photography exhibit about Pakistani relief refugees. And a picture from outside of a beautiful sunset!
Thursday, I had American Politics, where we had a TA teach since the professor was out, and we talked more about rights and examples of court cases. Then I had my Ethics lecture, where we talked about Nietzsche's On the Genealogy of Morality, which was really interesting. His thoughts are really complicated and sometimes difficult to understand, but they never fail to bring up interesting concepts. On Thursday, we talked about the differences in good and bad (Roman-Greco tradition) and good and evil (Judea-Christian thought). It was a really great discussion about the strong and the weak and how the two look at those types of people differently, like if they glorify them or shun them. After that, I went back to my dorm and did a couple of phone interviews for my volleyball preview story about the Georgia Tech & Clemson games for The Chronicle. After that, I went to my stats lecture, where we finished up preparing for the midterm, and in French, we discussed our new novel, Balzac et La Petite Tailleuse Chinoise. Then I had a meeting I had to go to before napping for a bit and grabbing dinner. Then I headed to The Link to study and do work, and I saw Pokemon come through!! It was awesome, to say the least. After that, I went to Wilson Gym to do some erg workouts for rowing and then went to sleep. Also--there are group study rooms on the fourth floor of Perkins, and they are awesome! Now.. the pictures you guys have been waiting for!
On Friday, our Stats lab was canceled, so I slept in then headed to the Main Quad for Chi Omega's Scoop-A-Dish activity! Basically we were serving Coldstone's ice cream on food points to benefit Make-a-Wish Foundation. I'll try and put up pictures later once they're up! After that, I headed over to East Campus for my Ethics discussion, where we talked more about Nietzsche and the origin of values and ethics, and if they were inherent, or if they developed over time. After, I had practice in the erg (rowing) room again, and we did warm-ups of about 2000m and then a 3000m followed by a 4000m 5-person relay. It was a lot of fun, but definitely tiring! After that, I had a Chronicle sports meeting and got to chat it up with the other kids in sports. Then we had a Chronicle social so we could all get to know each other, and the writers and photographers. After that, we all went to get Pauly Dogs and then I headed back to the dorm with Caroline to get changed for the Homecoming Ball! I'll put up those pictures later once they're uploaded--should be soon!! Then I called it a night and went to sleep.
And now it's almost time for the football game, but I mainly just studied for Stats earlier instead of going to Tailgate (everyone dresses up like it's Halloween, and basically goes to a dance party in the Blue Zone. It's so much fun, but definitely pretty ridiculous!). I'm off now. Let's go Duke!!!








No comments:
Post a Comment